Portrait: Stacy

Please share with me why you chose to participate.

I want to participate because I would like a momento of this time in our life together.  Breastfeeding has been a major struggle for us, and I am very happy and proud of how far we’ve come together.

Why do you feel it’s important to promote a positive image of breastfeeding in society today?

As a new mom struggling to breastfeed, I had heard many stories from friends of being hassled, frowned upon, and shamed for breastfeeding in public.  I was unable to breastfeed without a cover, and in the early days had to supplement, so I was scared to nurse in public because I was afraid I would get hassled from both sides.

I want to help stop that fear for other new moms, and remind other people that breastfeeding is a normal, natural thing to do, but that it isn’t easy and what moms need is support, not judgement.

Leave a Reply

